11of 11
  • 4 messages
  • May 21, 2018 20:16
May 21, 2018 20:16

Hello,

I'm fairly new to comic book collecting. I was wondering something, I want to store my storm comics (don lawrence) properly and put them in covers. Are backboards absolutely necessary and do they have to be exactly the same size as the comic book itself or can they also be smaller?

Thank you in advance.

J .

Message has been translated from Dutch
Show original message
  • 4,319 messages
  • May 22, 2018 10:41
added
prices
info pages

Backing boards are only used with (American) comics, which are too thin to stand upright on their own. Not necessary for normal European soft covers.

P.

Show original message
  • 1,907 messages
  • May 22, 2018 18:25
added
prices
info pages
reviews

J ??

In case you want to keep your comic books that you have just bought and read carefully, there are of course basic tips:

A sturdy bookcase whose shelves do not bend;

The strips will be next to each other, so that they will not curve, I put them horizontally, some collectors put them on top of each other, but I think that is just not good.

no humid space, and no sunlight because then the spines will discolour.

You can store delicate older comic books in acid-free sturdy plastic sleeves, which are from cheap to "much" too expensive. Cheap plastic covers sometimes gently stick to the front and back covers.

Keep your book rooms dust-free and check for dry / silverfish, which love paper, especially wood.

Furthermore, there will undoubtedly be more tips on the internet

best regards H (arry)

Show original message
  • 4 messages
  • May 22, 2018 18:37
May 22, 2018 18:37

Thank you @Boekenmagazijn and @ Harry56 for the tips.

I have one more question then. How do I know if the covers are acid-free? I have now ordered them from a comic book webshop (comic monkey), but it was nowhere stated whether they are acid-free. (Because they are a "specialty store" I assume that they are sour.)

Greetings